Australian Fusion Strategy 2007

The Australian ITER Forum is leading the development of a strategy for engagement in ITER.

This initiative was a key outcome of the successful international workshop that was held in Sydney in October 2006. The original strategy document (2006) is available. Download Strategy Document (PDF)

This document was prepared following the receipt of ideas and responses from the research community, industry and government about the roles that Australian organisations and businesses could play in ITER, and how we can bring about and sustain our engagement.

The 2012 update of the Australian ITER Strategy has now been drafted and is available for comment.


More information

Strategy group membership

  • Dr Miriam Goodwin, Goodnews – Facilitator
  • Prof. Andrew Cheetham, formerly University of Canberra, now Pro Vice-Chancellor Research, University of Western Sydney
  • Dr John Howard, Australian National University
  • Dr M. J. Hole, Australian National University
  • Dr Dennis Mather, AINSE
  • Prof. John O’Connor, University of Newcastle

This strategy development is principally supported by the Australian Department of Education, Science and Training International Science Linkages Scheme established under the Australian Government’s innovation statement ‘Backing Australia’s Strategy’.


Letters of Support

The fusion science strategic plan now has written letters of support from:

  • The Hon. Martin Ferguson MP, Minister for Energy, Resources and Tourism
  • Dr Dennis Jensen, MP
  • The ITER Organization, Dr Ikeda, Director-General
  • Australian National University, Deputy Vice Chancellor
  • University of Sydney, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)
  • University of Newcastle, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)
  • University of Wollongong, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)
  • Curtin University, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)
  • Flinders Unibersity, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)
  • Macquarie University, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research)
  • Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation, Chief of Research
  • Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering, President
  • H1 Major National Research Facility, Director and Chair
  • Australian Institute of Physics, President
  • Australian Institute of Energy, Vice-President
  • Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, Technical Director
  • Australian Institute, Executive Director
  • Nuclear Panel of Engineers Australia, Chairman
  • Australian Nuclear Association, President


Strategy launch media release